Explore Grayson County, Kentucky

Grayson County is located in west-central Kentucky and is bordered by the Rough River on the north and the Nolin River on the southeast. Formed in 1810, it was the fifty-fourth county established from land given by Hardin and Ohio counties. The county is named for William Grayson, a United States Senator from Virginia and a Revolutionary War colonel. Leitchfield, named for Major David Leitch the original owner of the town site, is the county seat. The town was formally incorporated in 1866.

The historical markers located throughout Grayson County offer information for many of the early homes in the area, the landmarks found throughout the county, and the importance placed on mills and sulfur springs for both the local inhabitants and visitors from many other states. Noted particularly for Grayson Springs, Grayson County was hugely popular for a century, whether people simply wanted a vacation or to "take the waters" for medicinal purposes. Although more than fifty spas were located throughout the state, Grayson Springs could boast having springs more heavily saturated with sulfur than any other.

As you make your way through this tour, you can find a range of topics covering Grayson County. One can learn about the founders of Grayson County and Leitchfield; the millers of Green Mill who produced Grayson Lily Flour in the small town of Falls of Rough; the earliest brick residence in the county, now used for the Grayson Historical Society; and the land that George Washington owned, but unfortunately died before visiting.

We hope you are able to use this tour in exploring the long and rich history of Grayson County.

Washington's Land

Historical Marker #212 marks five thousand acres of land owned by George Washington in present-day Grayson County. These five thousand acres in Grayson County was the only land in Kentucky owned by General George Washington. The deed to the land…

Courthouse Burned

Historical Marker #589 commemorates when the Leitchfield courthouse was burned during the Civil War. Twenty- two courthouses were burned during the Civil War. Most were purposely destroyed while some met an unfortunate accident. The Leitchfield…

Grayson Springs

Historical Marker# 768 marks the site of a famous sulfur spa and resort in Grayson County. Grayson Springs began in the mid 1820s and was owned and operated by M.P. Clarkson. Opened from May 1 until October 1 each year, it flourished from 1825 until…

County Named, 1810

Historical Marker #873 notes the naming of Grayson County for Colonel William Grayson, an aide to General George Washington during the Revolutionary War. George Washington purchased five thousand acres on the southern shore of Rough River in 1788. …

Green Mill

Historical Marker #906 marks the spot of the Green Sawmill in the small town of Falls of Rough. Willis Green II was born in Virginia, was a member of the Whig Party, and was a district campaign manager for Henry Clay when Clay ran for president.…

Revolutionary War Soldier

Historical Marker #1592 commemorates George Eskridge who settled in Grayson County around 1811. “Kentucky George” Eskridge, born in Virginia in 1763, served in the American Revolution before settling in what is now Grayson County. Called…

The Cedars

Historical Marker #1602 marks one of the oldest brick houses in Grayson County. The transitional Greek Revival house located in Rogers Springs was built in 1847 by Benjamin Lone Rogers. Rogers was born in Nelson County, Kentucky, in 1812 to Joseph…

Jack Thomas House

Historical Marker #1634 marks the earliest brick residence in Grayson County, as well as one of the oldest brick structures in west-central Kentucky. The Jack Thomas House was originally a one-story, two-room, brick building that was erected by…

Leitchfield Landmarks

Historical Marker #1741 notes some important landmarks in Leitchfield, the county seat of Grayson County. Founded in 1810, Leitchfield was named for Major David Leitch of Campbell County. Leitch was an aide-de-camp to General Robert Lawson of…

Pioneer Family

Historical Marker #1828 notes the town of Millerstown, which was settled before 1800. Millerstown is the oldest settlement in Grayson County. Founded by Jacob Miller in the late eighteenth century, Millerstown was originally called Skaggs after the…

Shaw's Station

Historical Marker #1980 marks the location of Benham Shaw’s pioneer settlement and the Beaver Dam Creek Baptist Church. Benham (Bonum) Shaw originally settled near Elizabethtown around 1779 with a group of Baptist settlers. Shaw was a ruling elder…